Board of Transportation





The Morris County Board of Transportation was created in 1961 by the Board of Chosen Freeholders (now County Commissioners). Their mission is to advise the Commissioners and to work with local, regional, state, and federal agencies to preserve and improve transportation services and facilities in Morris County for residents, businesses, and visitors. The Commissioner-appointed fifteen member board consists of eight citizen members from throughout Morris County, two Commissioner liaisons, the County’s freight railroad operator, one member from the Morris County aviation community and one from the freight community, and two citizen alternate members.

The board meets quarterly at 2:00 P.M. in the conference room of the Office of Planning & Preservation on the 2nd floor at 30 Schuyler Place in Morristown. The board’s staff services are provided by the Division of Engineering & Transportation of the Morris County Department of Public Works. For further information please contact the division at 973-285-6750 or [email protected].


  • Stephen H. Shaw, Commissioner
  • Thomas J. Mastrangelo, Commissioner
  • Joe Wells, Chairperson
  • Melverne E. Cooke
  • Ronald Francioli
  • Jack Holland
  • Darren Large
  • Ilene Dorf Manahan
  • Frank T. Reilly
  • Manuela Schuster
  • Jigar Shah
  • John Wetzel
  • Leonard Resto, Alternate 1
  • Carlos Duarte, Alternate 2
  • County's Freight Railroad Operator