Special Law Enforcement Officer Class II (SLEO II)

Applications closing on June 18, 2021, 12:00 AM

  • Job TypePart Time
  • Package$30-$33 per hour

Description

The Morris County Sheriff’s Office is currently seeking New Jersey Police Training Commission (PTC) certified applicants for the position of Special Law Enforcement Officer Class II.

Essential Functions and Responsibilities

The Morris County Sheriff’s Office expects to utilize the part-time officers in an armed security function at the Office of Temporary Assistance (OTA) and potentially at other County Facilities in the future. The SLEO Class II officers may be scheduled no more than twenty (20) hours per week to provide public safety and law enforcement services to a public entity. Only when full-time sheriff’s officers are not available, SLEO Class II officers may be called to help maintain order at public gatherings by using crowd control techniques. They may regulate and control pedestrian and vehicular traffic to ensure safe and rapid traffic movement. Officers of this class shall be authorized to exercise full powers and duties similar to those of a permanent, regularly appointed full-time sheriff’s officer. The use of a firearm by SLEO Class II officer may be authorized only after becoming fully certified and successfully completing training as prescribed by the PTC.

Qualifications

Candidates must possess a current New Jersey Police Training Commission Certification as a police officer, or as a Class II Special Officer, from an approved Police Academy. The police officer must possess the following qualifications:

  • A high school diploma or GED equivalent
  •  A United States Citizen
  • A resident of New Jersey
  • Hold a valid New Jersey driver’s license
  • Have the ability to read, write and speak the English language clearly and intelligently
  • Have and demonstrate good moral character and have not been convicted of any crime constituting an indictable offense or any offense involving moral turpitude; verified by a background investigation
  • Pass an oral interview
  • Pass a psychological examination Pass a drug screening

Please note that applicants who are retired police officers who previously completed the New Jersey Basic Course for Police Officers (BCPO), must have had proper training that satisfy the other requirements of N.J.S.A. 40A:14-146, have separated from prior service in good standing and cannot have had a break in service of three (3) years or more.

Location

Various Locations within Morris County