MINUTES MORRIS COUNTY

OPEN SPACE PRESERVATION TRUST FUND COMMITTEE

30 East Hanover Avenue, Whippany, New Jersey October 22, 2019

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M. by Chairperson Thomson.

<u>Members present</u>:

George Coogan, Region VII - Morris Plains

Nita Galate, Morris County Historic Preservation Trust Fund Review Board and Planning Board

Kathy Haake, Region IV – Rockaway Borough

Robin Jones, Region VI – Pequannock

Casey Parikh, At-Large

Don Richardson, Region VIII - Long Hill

Mohamed Seyam, At-Large

David Sprandel, Region II - Mendham Borough

Laura Szwak, Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority

Matthew Tal, Morris County Park Commission (arrived at 6:03 P.M.)

Jay Thomson, Morris County Agriculture Development Board

Members with excused absence:

Marcia Asdal, Region I – Chester Township

Joseph Nametko, Region III - Netcong

Elliott Ruga, Region V – Boonton Town

Also attending:

Christine Marion, Director, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation Joe Barilla, Assistant Director, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation Barbara Murray, Open Space Program Coordinator, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation

John Napolitano, Esq., Morris County Counsel

William Johnson, Esq., Special Counsel, Morris County Preservation Trust Fund Robert G. Schwarz, MAI, Review Appraiser, Morris County Preservation Trust (arrived at 7:15 P.M.)

Members of the Public:

None

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING STATEMENT

Chairperson Thomson stated that, in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, adequate notice of the meeting had been provided and filed with the Town of Morristown, Township of Hanover, the Morris County Clerk, the Daily Record and the Star Ledger.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

WHEREAS, pursuant to P.L. 1975 Ch. 231, the Open Public Meetings Act, the Open Space Trust Fund Committee may exclude the public to discuss matters as are provided under the Act; and

WHEREAS, said Act provided that this Committee may exclude the public from the discussion of such matters,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Open Space Trust Fund Committee hereby excludes the public in order to discuss such matters. The general nature of the subject to be discussed is as follows: Purchase, lease or acquisition of real property. On a motion by George Coogan, seconded by David Sprandel, the committee closed the open portion of the meeting and voted to conduct a closed session at 6:04 P.M.

RETURN TO MEETING

The meeting reopened to the public at 8:50 P.M.

ACTION AS A RESULT OF CLOSED SESSION

<u>2019 Open Space Recommendations</u> — On a motion by Nita Galate, seconded by Robin Jones, the Committee approved transmitting their 2019 open space grant recommendations to the Board of Chosen Freeholders, per the discussion held in executive session with abstentions and dissentions for specific projects as noted. A roll call vote was taken. Aye: Coogan, Galate, Haake, Jones, Parikh, Richardson, Seyam, Sprandel, Szwak, Tal, Thomson. Nay: None Abstain: None

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Laura Szwak, seconded by Robin Jones, the meeting was adjourned at 8:57 P.M. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara J. Murray