MINUTES MORRIS COUNTY

OPEN SPACE PRESERVATION TRUST FUND COMMITTEE

October 20, 2020

Held remotely via WebEx:

https://morriscountynj.webex.com/join/bmurray

Phone In: 1-408-418-9388 Access Code: 712 349 680

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 PM by Chairman Jay Thomson.

Members present:

Jacqueline (Jaki) Albrecht, Region III - Roxbury

Jennifer Cooper, Region I – Chester Borough

Nita Galate, Morris County Planning Board and Trail Program Advisory Committee

Robin Jones, Region VI - Pequannock

Suzanne McCluskey, Region VII – Morris Plains

Robert Norton, Region IV – Wharton (arrived 6:23 P.M.)

Kaushik (Casey) Parikh, At-Large

Don Richardson, Region VIII – Long Hill

Elliott Ruga, Region V – Town of Boonton

Mohamed Seyam, At-Large

David Sprandel, Region II - Mendham Borough

Laura Szwak, Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority

Matthew Tal, Morris County Park Commission

Jay Thomson, Morris County Agriculture Development Board

Also attending:

John Napolitano, Esq., Morris County Counsel

William Johnson, Esq., Special Counsel, Morris County Preservation Trust Fund

Joe Barilla, Director, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation

Ray Chang, Historic Preservation Trust Fund Program Coordinator, Morris County

Office of Planning & Preservation

Robert G. Schwarz, MAI, Review Appraiser, Morris County Preservation Trust

Members of the Public:

None

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING STATEMENT

Chairperson Thomson stated that, in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, adequate notice of the meeting had been provided and filed with the Town of Morristown, the Morris County Clerk, the Daily Record and the Star Ledger.

PUBLIC COMMENT

There was no public comment.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

WHEREAS, pursuant to P.L. 1975 Ch. 231, the Open Public Meetings Act, the

Open Space Trust Fund Committee may exclude the public to discuss matters as are provided under the Act; and

WHEREAS, said Act provided that this Committee may exclude the public from the discussion of such matters,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Open Space Trust Fund Committee hereby excludes the public in order to discuss such matters. The general nature of the subject to be discussed is as follows: Purchase, lease or acquisition of real property. On a motion by Jaki Albrecht, seconded by Don Richardson, the committee closed the open portion of the meeting and voted to conduct a closed session at 6:09 P.M.

RETURN TO MEETING

The meeting reopened to the public at 9:40 P.M.

ACTION AS A RESULT OF CLOSED SESSION

<u>2020 Open Space Recommendations</u> – On a motion by Laura Szwak, seconded by Jaki Albrecht, the Committee approved transmitting their 2020 open space grant recommendations to the Board of Chosen Freeholders, per the discussion held in executive session with abstentions and dissentions for specific projects as noted. A roll call vote was taken. Aye: Albrecht, Cooper, Galate, Jones, McCluskey, Norton, Parikh, Richardson, Ruga, Seyam, Sprandel, Szwak, Tal, Thomson. Nay: None Abstain: None

ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Jaki Albrecht, seconded by Laura Szwak, the meeting was adjourned at 10:00 P.M. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Ray Chang