# MINUTES MORRIS COUNTY OPEN SPACE PRESERVATION TRUST FUND COMMITTEE October 19, 2021

Held remotely via WebEx:

https://morriscountynj.webex.com/morriscountynj/j.php?MTID=m6748633199f15d4268 c4492d3c46a7c1

Phone In: 1-408-418-9388

Access Code: 233 813 41390

The meeting was called to order at 6:02 P.M. by Chairman Jay Thomson.

<u>Members present</u>: Patrick Antonetti, Region VI – Lincoln Park Astri Baillie, Region VIII – Madison Betty Cass-Schmidt, Morris County Park Commission Jennifer Cooper, Region I – Chester Borough Nita Galate, Morris County Planning Board and Trail Program Advisory Committee Thomas "Ace" Gallagher, Region VII – Hanover David Kaplan, Region V – Parsippany-Troy Hills Suzanne McCluskey, At-Large Mohamed Seyam, At-Large Laura Szwak, Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority Jay Thomson, Morris County Agriculture Development Board

<u>Members with Excused Absence</u>: Jacqueline (Jaki) Albrecht, Region III – Roxbury Robert Norton, Region IV – Wharton

Also attending:

John Napolitano, Esq., Morris County Counsel (arrived 6:59 P.M.) William Johnson, Esq., Special Counsel, Morris County Preservation Trust Fund Joe Barilla, Director, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation Barbara Murray, Open Space Program Coordinator, Morris County Office of Planning & Preservation Robert G. Schwarz, MAI, Review Appraiser, Morris County Preservation Trust (arrived 6:36 P.M.)

<u>Members of the Public</u>: None

## **OPEN PUBLIC MEETING STATEMENT**

Chairman Thomson stated that, in accordance with the Open Public Meetings Act, adequate notice of the meeting had been provided and filed with the Town of Morristown, the Morris County Clerk, the Daily Record and the Star Ledger.

### **PUBLIC COMMENT**

There was no public comment.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

WHEREAS, pursuant to P.L. 1975 Ch. 231, the Open Public Meetings Act, the Open Space Trust Fund Committee may exclude the public to discuss matters as are provided under the Act; and

WHEREAS, said Act provided that this Committee may exclude the public from the discussion of such matters,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Open Space Trust Fund Committee hereby excludes the public in order to discuss such matters. The general nature of the subject to be discussed is as follows: Purchase, lease or acquisition of real property. On a motion by Jennifer Cooper, seconded by Astri Baillie, the committee closed the open portion of the meeting and voted to conduct a closed session at 6:07 P.M.

#### **RETURN TO MEETING**

The meeting reopened to the public at 9:03 P.M.

#### ACTION AS A RESULT OF CLOSED SESSION

<u>2021 Open Space Recommendations</u> – On a motion by Suzanne McCluskey, seconded by Jennifer Cooper, the Committee approved transmitting their 2021 open space grant recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners, per the discussion held in executive session with abstentions and dissentions for specific projects as noted. A roll call vote was taken. Aye: Antonetti, Baillie, Cass-Schmidt, Cooper, Galate, Gallagher, Kaplan, McCluskey, Seyam, Szwak, Thomson. Nay: None Abstain: None

#### ADJOURNMENT

On a motion by Laura Szwak, seconded by Astri Baillie, the meeting was adjourned at 9:10 P.M. All in favor.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara J. Murray