Improvement Authority Names Officers for 2006

Published on February 09, 2006

The Morris County Improvement Authority Board of Commissioners has named county Administrator John Bonanni as chairperson of the five-member authority for the second year.

Bonanni has been a commissioner since the Morris County Board of Freeholders established the MCIA in 2002.

The commission also named commissioners Christina Ramirez of Morristown as vice-chairperson; Morris County Treasurer Glenn Roe as authority treasurer; Denville Township Business Administrator Ellen Sandman as secretary; and Walter P. Krich, director of the county's Department of Planning, Development and Technology as the authority?s assistant secretary.

The five commissioners, who serve without salary, guide the MCIA in its mission of helping towns and school districts fund public projects and save tax dollars at the same time.

By using the MCIA to finance such projects as equipment and vehicle purchases or leasing, school and municipal construction or refinance their pension debts, local officials are able to spend fewer dollars and reduce the tax burden on their residents.

In the three and a half years since the freeholders established the MCIA, it is estimated nearly $10 million in tax savings has been realized for the entities that have used the authority, including the communities of Butler, Denville, Morris Plains, Morris Township, Morristown and the County of Morris as well as the Boonton, Chester Township, Denville, Jefferson, Morris Hills Regional, Mount Olive, Parsippany, Roxbury and Washington Township school districts.

Tagged as: