MCPO & Morris County Chapter of the NAACP Hold Semi-Annual Summit

Published on May 18, 2023

Morris County Prosecutor Robert J. Carroll, First Assistant Prosecutor Maggie Calderwood, Chief of Detectives Robert McNally, Sheriff James Gannon, and other investigative members of the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, along with Lt. Joseph Waters of the Division of Criminal Justice, joined executive members of the Morris County Chapter of the NAACP for their semi-annual summit on Tuesday, May 16, 2023. Participating for the Morris County NAACP Chapter was First VP Ottawanna Anderson, NAACP Branch 2092B President Vanessa Brown, Public Relations Committee Chair Athena Johnson, Chair of Legal Redress Robert Warrington, Esq, and Morris County Correctional Facility Chaplain and Chairman/Criminal Justice for the Morris County NAACP Rev. Herman Scott.

These meetings are part of a continuing effort to build community rapport and maintain an open dialogue on progressive matters of law enforcement and the criminal justice system.  During the meeting, a power point explaining the internal functions of the MCPO was presented and questions regarding changes in the various criminal laws and criminal procedures were responded to.

Prosecutor Carroll and Sheriff Gannon jointly stated: “In our ongoing reach out to community leadership, these type of substantive meetings enable our ability to provide important information about the many advancements and changes in the criminal justice system and to answer questions from the NAACP leadership.  We look forward to providing additional information to continue this mutually beneficial exchange of thoughts and ideas on improving community communication and building lasting relationships.”

Last November, NAACP executive members joined the administration of the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office and Morris County Sheriff’s Office for a tour of the Morris County Correctional Facility.

NAACP Lunch Meeting May 2023 Group Photo.jpg

(Front) First Assistant Prosecutor Maggie Calderwood, Ottawanna Anderson, Athena Johnson, President Vanessa Brown, Lt. Joseph Waters, and Capt. Stephen Ortiz.

(Back) Sgt. Patrick LaGuerre, Rev. Herman Scott, Prosecutor Robert Carroll, Robert Warrington, and Chief Robert McNally.