Morris County Observes Mental Health Awareness in May

Published on May 12, 2023

Service Providers Honored at Commissioners’ Work Session

2023_05_CCMP_Mental Health Awareness 01.jpg  

The Board of County Commissioners presented two framed resolutions at their work session meeting this week to recognize the dedicated support of Morris County service providers during Mental Health Awareness Month.

“Mental Health Awareness Month is an opportunity for us to come together as a community and start an open and honest conversation about mental health … This month is also a2023_05_CCMP_Mental Health Awareness 02.jpg time to celebrate and recognize the people who play a critical role in providing services that aid in prevention, effective treatment, and the management of mental health, enabling others to live full and productive lives,” said Commissioner Deputy Director Christine Myers, liaison to the Morris County Human Services Department.

She handed a framed proclamation to Amy Archer, Mental Health Administrator and Division Director of Community and Behavioral Health Services, Anna Marie Hess, Administrative Professional for the Office of Community and Behavioral Health Services, and Christopher Chernick, Chair of the Mental Health Addictions Services Advisory Board (MHASAB), who expressed gratitude and spoke briefly about achievements.

“I have hosted a support group for depression and bipolar disorder in Succasunna for many years, and can see how for others hope and recovery, often as a supplement to the doctor and therapist, can lead recovery for those who are afflicted. Thank you for this proclamation and for hearing us today,” stated Chernick.

This year also marks the 60th anniversary of NewBridge Services, whose mission is to bring balance to people’s lives through counseling, housing and education. NewBridge Services’ CEO Michelle Borden and trustee Betty Cass-Schmidt provided some updates about their organization and how purposeful their work has been to the mental health community.

“Five individuals came together and created an organization that blossomed into NewBridge Services. We adopted that name in 1998. Prior to that, we were the Pequannock Valley Mental Health Center. We treat people of all ages, in all settings: at home, in school, in our offices, in group homes. People who want to be independent, we wrap services around them, or seniors who live in their own homes but need additional support. We do affordable housing and have apartments in this county as well as a couple others,” stated Borden.

2023_05_CCMP_Mental Health Awareness 03.jpg Commissioner Director John Krickus presented a framed resolution to Borden and Cass-Schmidt on behalf of the County Commissioners to honor the organization for their anniversary and thank them for being such a consistent partner providing essential support to the community.

“Throughout the years, the county has supported NewBridge on various initiatives that promote mental health and well-being: From campaigns to help curb opioid use by senior citizens, while encouraging activities like exercise, acupuncture, yoga, meditation, physical therapy for pain management, to youth employment programs that help high schoolers develop essential career building skills, such as job interviewing, resume writing, financial literacy and stress management. Thank you for all you do for Morris County,” said Director Krickus.

The group took a brief break for photos in the Public Meeting Room before the regular work session resumed. During the meeting, the Commissioners also adopted a resolution to observe Older Americans Month in May, with plans to formally present a proclamation at the May 24th work session.


Photo 1: Morris County Commissioners Stephen Shaw, Tom Mastrangelo, Doug Cabana, Tayfun Selen, Deborah Smith, Director John Krickus, Deputy Director Christine Myers, Christopher Chernick, Chelsea Whiting, Morris County Sheriff’s Officer and member of MHASAB, Anna Marie Hess, Amy Archer, and Human Services Director Kasey Errico.

Photo 2: Amy Archer, Christopher Chernick, Deputy Director Christine Myers, Chelsea Whiting and Anna Marie Hess.

Photo 3: Morris County Commissioners Stephen Shaw, Doug Cabana, Deborah Smith, Director John Krickus, Michelle Borden, Betty Cass-Schmidt, Deputy Director Christine Myers, Commissioners Tayfun Selen and Tom Mastrangelo.

Tagged as: