MCPB Historic Members

The Morris County Planning Board (MCPB) was established by the Board of Chosen Freeholders (now known as the Board of CountyPB Letterhead 2023.jpeg Commissioners) on April 14, 1937.

The first meeting of the MCPB was held on March 28, 1951. The original members present were:

  • Edward A. Berg
  • Robert L. Curtis
  • John E. Deasey
  • Joseph K. Franks
  • Hon. Norman J. Griffiths
  • Hon. John Roach Jr.
  • Vincent J. Wemlinger

Topics discussed during the first year of the MCPB included a scarcity of building materials, flooding, building activity and the scenic beauty of Morris County.  Although the scarcity of building materials is an issue that comes and goes; flooding, building activity and the scenic beauty of Morris County are topics that have been prevalent throughout the entire history of the MCPB.

Since its inception, the Planning Board has had 115 members hailing from 33 Morris County municipalities.  

Below are some additional statistics about the Morris County Planning Board:

  • Historically, Parsippany-Troy Hills is the municipality representing the most members (9), followed closely by Montville (8) and Denville (8).
  • The longest serving member of the Planning Board is Steve Rattner from Mount Olive Township. He has sat on the board from January 1997 to present- a total of 27 years!
  • The first female member to serve on the Planning Board was the Honorable Leana Brown. She served from January 1973 to December 1980.

Historical Roster of Morris County Planning Board Members

Historical-List-MCPB-Members.pdf(PDF, 209KB)

Morris County Planning Board Membership Map

MCPB-Members-Map.pdf(PDF, 2MB)