The Morris County Office of Temporary Assistance would like to encourage clients to apply online or by phone for enrollment to our programs. Please note, due to the COVID-19 outbreak and the increase in applications, you may experience longer wait times in our response.
If your case is due to be recertified and you were unable to get your paperwork in or complete your interview, your case will not be closed. You will receive your benefits on the usual day. Your case will be recertified at some point in the future, once this public health crisis has settled. In the meantime, you will continue to receive SNAP benefits. The recertification of NJ SNAP eligibility is extended for a period of six (6) months for each applicable certification period through September 30, 2021.
Eligible SNAP recipients who receive food assistance through NJ SNAP will receive at least $95 in emergency benefits or the maximum temporary benefit for your household size, whichever is greater through September 30, 2021. This additional benefit was added to help address critical food needs related to the COVID 19 pandemic.
Ensuring you receive your benefits during this ongoing coronavirus concern is a top priority, so in an effort to make it easier for you to apply or receive your benefits, a number of temporary changes have been put in place regarding social services that are administered here at the Office of Temporary Assistance.
We are encouraging county residents who want to apply for SNAP food assistance, or cash assistance under the Work First New Jersey program to do so online at NJHelps.org. During this public health crisis, we can do interviews by phone, so you do not need to come into the office to apply for benefits.
Work First New Jersey cash assistance clients who are due for their case to be reviewed in July automatically will get a 60-day extension. If your case was due to be reviewed in June 30, 2021 the deadline was extended to August 31, 2021. You do not need to come into the office.
If you are a SNAP food assistance or a Work First New Jersey cash assistance client, you are not required to attend your work activity, unless you want to and the program is operating. This includes people who are applying for Work First New Jersey General Assistance and are in a work activity for 28 days while their application is being reviewed. No penalty will be assessed to you if you do not attend your work activity. Visit the State of NJ’s website for more information.
When you need to bring paperwork to the office, you can fax, mail or look for the drop box located in the foyer of the Main building. A staff person will be posted for any questions.
The Dover Office is closed to the public.