Mental Health Addictions Services Advisory Board




Agendas & Minutes

The MHASAB meets on the second Thursday of the month at 5:15 p.m. at the Division of Community & Behavioral Health Services (MC Non-Profit Mall), 1 Medical Drive, Morris Plains, NJ 07950 (unless otherwise noted).

Please use the Executive Drive entrance parallel to Medical Drive. The building is on the left. Park and enter the second (middle) entrance. There is a gazebo to the left of the conference room door. This door will bring you directly into the conference room.


MISSION: To ensure that a full continuum of care is available, accessible and affordable to address the shared and specific mental health and substance abuse prevention, education and treatment needs of Morris County residents.

PURPOSE: Formulate and implement strategies to:

  • identify and remediate barriers to service
  • advise the Morris County Department of Human Services regarding compliance with the statutory requirement of the Community Mental Health Act, and the applicable sections of P.L. 1983, Chapter 531 and P.L. 1989, Chapter 51 related to substance abuse prevention, education and treatment
  • advocate for a seamless system of care for clients with specific or shared mental health and substance abuse issues
  • ensure that education and training opportunities are made available to consumers, providers, and volunteers
  • monitor the use of public dollars
  • promote cooperation between two distinct treatment systems regarding the care of target populations with overlapping and discreet needs.


Members are appointed by the Morris County Board of County Commissioners.  Within the membership, four members must be recovering substance abusers and two must be mental health consumers and/or family members of mental health consumers.

The Board has four standing subcommittees: Funding, Planning, Legislative/Advocacy and the County Alliance Steering Subcommittee.

Members are appointed annually by the County Commissioners without pay.

  • Agliata, Andrew – Community Representative
  • Bailey, Caroline – CARES
  • Benson, Gregg – Community Representative
  • Chernick, Chris – Chair
  • Csengeto, Linda – Community Representative
  • Diamond, Heather – Community Representative
  • Garodnick, Cheryl – Vice-Chair
  • Hill, Julian, Esq. – Morris County Prosecutor’s Office
  • Mulligan, Vicky – Community Representative
  • Peluso, Robert, Hon., - Community Representative
  • Robinson, Alton – Community Representative
  • Rodriquez, Meg – Morris County Prosecutor’s Office
  • Tucker, LaJuan, Esq. – Morris County Prosecutor’s Office
  • Valvano, Erica – Morris County Sherriff’s Office
  • Villano, Amy – Community Representative
  • Ward, Barbara – Community Representative
  • Whiting, Chelsea – Morris County Sherriff’s Office